Menu
RU EN
Home Translator Useful links

Useful links

Working at a translation, linguists often face a problem of reliable sources of information. Sometimes the data found in different sources conflicts each other, and here comes the question – what to choose?

Dear partners! In order to help you, we have listed here some web sites that can answer many of your questions arising during translation. This information is mostly for those who work with the Russian language.

On this page, we will also publish links to interesting materials, useful articles and other information that could help you in your work.

  Information
www.gramota.ru It hosts several dictionaries, including spelling dictionaries and thesaurus, dictionary of synonyms and antonyms, and others, where you can check a particular word. It also contains Russian spelling and punctuation rules, as well as a variety of useful guides. In addition, there is a help desk, where you can find answers to many popular questions or ask your own question.
www.evartist.narod.ru/text1/20.htm Reference book of spelling, pronunciation, literary editing of D.E. Rosenthal et al. which is also considered an authoritative source. It contains detailed spelling and punctuation rules.

www.convertr.ru

When localizing measurement units, one should adhere to GOST standards. This automatic converter can help you with this.

www.thefreedictionary.com

Here you will find definitions and comments to medical, law, and economic terms, as well as idioms and abbreviations. There is also latest world news that will help you to broaden your horizons and stay aware of the latest events.
www.microsoft.com/Language/en-US/Default.aspx Microsoft language portal is an excellent tool for translators in the field of IT and localization specialists. Here you will find translation of all terms for different kinds of software and recommendations for the user interface translation. You can also download Style Guides for localization of Microsoft products in your language.
www.bbc.co.uk/worldserviceradio BBC Radio is a great platform for listening to news, TV shows and documentaries online in 28 languages. This resource allows not only being aware of latest world events, but also expanding horizons and increasing your language competence. For interpreters BBC Radio will be a great source of materials for training of consecutive and simultaneous interpretation skills as well as for pronunciation improvement.
www.urbandictionary.com It is a Web-based dictionary of slang words and phrases (contains more than 6 mln definitions). The definitions on Urban Dictionary are meant to be those of phenomena not found in standard dictionaries as well as slang or ethnic culture words and phrases. Most words have multiple definitions, usage examples, and tags. This dictionary will be mostly useful for translators of marketing and audiovisual materials (movies, serials, ad videos).


Wikipedia can also be used as a source of background information in different languages: www.ru.wikipedia.org (Russian version) and www.en.wikipedia.org (English version). However, one should remember that content in Wikipedia is user-generated, so not all information is 100% reliable.

Customer Reviews

  • «

    »
    Read more Director, ONLINE-MEDIA.ru Vyacheslav Krampetz

Меню
RU EN
Главная Переводчику Полезные ресурсы

Полезные ресурсы

В процессе работы переводчики часто сталкиваются с проблемой поиска достоверных источников информации. Нередко сведения, найденные в различных источниках, противоречат друг другу. И тут возникает вопрос – что выбрать?

Уважаемые партнеры, чтобы облегчить вам процесс поиска надежных ресурсов, мы собрали на этой страничке сайты, которые помогут снять многие вопросы, возникающие при работе над переводом.

Здесь же мы будем публиковать ссылки на интересные материалы, полезные статьи и другую информацию, которая так или иначе может пригодиться вам в работе.

Итак,

Ресурс

Информация

www.gramota.ru

Здесь размещено несколько словарей, включая орфографический и толковый словари, словарь синонимов и антонимов и др., в которых можно выполнить проверку того или иного слова. Приведены правила русской орфографии и пунктуации, а также различные полезные справочники. Кроме того, есть справочное бюро, где можно найти ответы на многие вопросы

www.evartist.narod.ru/text1/20.htm

Справочник по правописанию, произношению, литературному редактированию Розенталя Д. Э. и др. также является авторитетным источником. Здесь содержатся достаточно подробные правила орфографии и пунктуации.

www.convertr.ru

При локализации единиц измерения следует придерживаться ГОСТа. Данный автоматический конвертер поможет вам в этом.

www.thefreedictionary.com

На данном сайте вы сможете найти определения и пояснения медицинских, юридических и экономических терминов, аббревиатур и идиом. Также здесь представлены актуальные мировые новости, что позволяет переводчику постоянно расширять свой кругозор и оставаться в курсе последних событий.

www.microsoft.com/Language/ru-ru/Default.aspx Языковой портал корпорации Майкрософт является отличным помощником для переводчиков в сфере IT и специалистов по локализации. Здесь вы найдете перевод всех необходимых терминов по различным программным продуктам, рекомендации по переводу пользовательского интерфейса, а также сможете скачать руководство по локализации продуктов Майкрософт для своего языка.
www.bbc.co.uk/worldserviceradio Данный ресурс компании BBC предназначен для прослушивания новостей, телевизионных шоу и документальных фильмов в режиме онлайн. Трансляция ведется на 28 языках. Слушая это радио, вы не только всегда будете в курсе последних мировых событий, но и сможете расширить свой кругозор, а также повысить уровень владения иностранными языками. Для устных переводчиков BBC Radio станет неисчерпаемым источником материалов для тренировки навыков последовательного и синхронного перевода, а также грамотного произношения.
www.urbandictionary.com Онлайн-словарь англоязычного сленга (более 6 млн словарных определений). Словарь содержит определения слов и выражений, отсутствующих в стандартных словарях и относящихся к сленгу и языкам этнических и иных субкультур. Для большинства слов приводится несколько определений с соответствующими примерами. Данный ресурс будет наиболее полезен переводчикам маркетинговых и аудиовизуальных материалов (фильмов, сериалов, рекламных роликов).

                                                                                                                         

При переводе справочную информацию на разных языках также можно почерпнуть в Википедии: www.ru.wikipedia.org и www.en.wikipedia.org. Однако следует помнить о том, что данные в Википедию добавляют пользователи, поэтому не всей информации можно полностью доверять.

 

Отзывы клиентов

  • «

    Я знаю переводчиков из Лингвисты уже много лет. Они переводили для Контека технические и рекламные материалы, выполнили локализацию одного программного комплекса, а также неоднократно оказывали услуги устного перевода во время визитов наших зарубежных партнеров...

    »
    Читать дальше Директор ООО "Контек-Софт" Соснин В. Н.